W-League to expand to 12 teams before 2023 Women’s World Cup

  • Thread starter Australian Associated Press
  • Start date

Australian Associated Press

  • Wellington, Central Coast and Western United to get licences
  • APL seeks to capitalise on interest in World Cup on home soil

The W-League will expand from nine to 12 teams by 2023 in a bid to capitalise on the looming Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand. Wellington Phoenix, Central Coast and Western United will all receive W-League licences over the next two years, in the first expansion since Melbourne City joined in 2015.

Australian Professional Leagues managing director Danny Townsend says the “likely scenario” is one team will join for the upcoming season with the other two to enter before 2022-23.

Continue reading...

Continue reading...